Buy Me Some Peanuts and Cracker Jacks… and Nachos, Pizzas and Stromboli

Posted on April 8, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

This season Fenway Park got some new foods provided by Aramark.  Now you don’t have to just head to McDonald’s, a Chinese buffet or a bakery to consume all of your daily calories in one sitting.  Here’s a list of some of the new foods and some of the highlights you get along with them.

Monster Dog – The “dog” itself is only 160 cals, but 130 come from fat!!  14 whopping grams of fat, 5 of which are saturated, which is 1/4 of the sat fat you should max out at a day.    Oh yeah, and 1/5 of the sodium you should have each day.

A 140 pound woman would have to dance for 55 minutes to burn those calories.

Whole Pizzas – Brick oven pizza.. okay.. I’ll just tell you about 1 slice of pepperoni, not the whole pizza… This still rolls in with 396 cals a slice and over 16g of fat and 42g of carbs!

A 140 pound woman would have to hike for an hour minutes to burn those calories.

Chicken Parm Sub – A chicken Parmesan sub has a total of 467 calories. Fat provides about 117 calories and  23 percent of the total calorie requirements for one day.

A 140 pound woman would have to 2 and a half hours of housework to burn those calories.

 

Meatball Parm Sub – Whoa whoa whoa.. weighing in at about 800 calories.  Need I say more?!?

A 140 pound woman would have to run 10 minute miles for 80 minutes to burn that many calories.

Veggie Stromboli (which specifies spinach and mozzarella) – You think you are being good by ordering something with spinach but this baby has 590 calories, 18.7g of fat, 7g of sat fat, 1471 mg of sodium, and 76.7 g of carbs.  Ugh.

A 140 pound woman would have to jump rope for 70 minutes to burn those calories.

Pepperoni & Mozzarella Stromboli – 754 calories, 32 g of fat (13 g of saturated fat), 1705mg of sodium, 75g of carbs!!  wow.

A 140 pound woman would have to rollerblade for 65 minutes to burn those calories.

Double cheeseburger – Over 400 calories and 23g of fat.  And that’s not the healthy fat folks!

A 140 pound woman would have to row on a rowing machine for an hour to burn those calories.

Funnel Cake – 276 calories, 14g of fat, 62mg of cholesterol (thanks to the fat in which it is fried!), and 29g of carbs.

A 140 pound woman would have to cross country ski for 40 minutes to burn those calories.

Home Made Cookies & Brownies (that you don’t even have to leave your seat for) – In a small cookie you will get 167calories, 7.7g of fat and 23 g of carbs.  The brownie has 238 cals!!  Just one lil’ brownie.

That’s 40 to 50 minutes of playing softball.

Milkshakes – Just 10 ounces (just over a cup)of a milkshake carries 360 calories and 60 g of carbs, most of which come from sugar.

A 140 pound woman would have to climb stairs for 50 minutes to burn those calories.

Lobster Roll – Just the filling gets you nearly 12 g of fat and 528 mg of sodium which is 22% of your RDA.

Veggie Burger  – calorie wise not as bad of an option but what is this being topped with?  whole fat american cheese?  what kind of bun?  how much sodium are we talking?  is this even good?

Veggie Dog – see above..

 

What do you guys think.. is it worth it?

When you head out to places you know there are little to no healthy options, what do you do to stay on track?

 

Kyra,

The Get In Shape Girl

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Buy Me Some Peanuts and Cracker Jacks… and Nachos, Pizzas and Stromboli”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

I eat before I go.

Or.

I share with someone else. I’d rather give in and have enough ‘junk’ to satisfy myself than gorge after not eating it for an extended period of time.

*everything in moderation. PS- love the blog.

And Lachele… I agree with that also! While reading all of these nutrition facts made me want to throw up and I’m certainly not one to crave a hot dog or a greasy cheeseburger (I like making my own because I just so happen to freaking love turkey burgers) I still think everyone is human.

I’m the type of person where if I deny, deny, deny myself of everything naughty I end up miserable and then I binge. Most other women I find are the same way.

But it’s always good to know exactly what you are putting into your body so it isn’t a regular occurrence.

Wow! It’s always amazing to see what’s really in the things most people consume without a second thought. It should be illegal to serve this kind of food to the public!

Btw, I was doing so awesome with the April Challenge…until this weekend. It started with a luncheon at work and went downhill from there. I’m on a major detox today. I feel disgusting. I don’t know where my head was with my eating this weekend. I allowed myself stuff I would normally never let touch my lips. I’ and vow never to eat like that again! Has this ever happened to you? Just a big fat fail of a weekend? I hadn’t experienced this in over a year. 😦 And yes!! If you come to Charlotte, let me know and we will get together for sure!! 🙂

Of course it has!!! I wish I could strengthen my self control the way I strengthen my muscles. The most important thing you can do here is accept it, and move on. Just get back to eating clean and working out and remember the way you feel right now. Then recall this feeling next time you are eyeballing that extra slice of pizza or french fries on the menu 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

