No One Believes… I Used to be Fat

Posted on March 30, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

My clients don’t believe me.  No one in the blog world knew me then.  My old friends who see me now are still in disbelief of how I’ve transformed my body.

When I was 22 years old, in 2003, I was a crazy party girl.  I was vegetarian who ate french fries, entire calzones and once I even ate an entire casserole dish of bean dip and bag of chips in one sitting.  I weighed 160 – 165 at 5’4″.  I didn’t exercise.. I thought sweating was gross.   I worked at Abercrombie and I wore a size large, I felt like I was being “hidden” because I wasn’t small.  I didn’t care.. I thought I was hot, but it did hurt.  It also hurt my pride when I was getting out of the backseat of my friend’s car and the inseam of my jeans split because they were too small.  One night I went out wearing a short mini skirt and ran into an ex who told me that “my outfit wasn’t flattering.”  I put that on him and just thought he was being mean because I didn’t see what I truly looked like and how big I was.  Finally, that summer I was in the backyard at my parents’ house in a bikini and my dad pointed to my stomach and asked “what is that?”  It hurt  A LOT but that’s exactly what it took for me to realize that I was overweight.  I was so unhealthy drinking as much as I was, eating horribly and never exercising.

I recently scanned some photos for a project I’m working on. Here are those photos…

I'm about 20 in this photo.. just got done eating chinese food

"Backstage" at a Taking Back Sunday show - 20 years old

My 23rd birthday party

Ryan and I at my 23rd B'day party.. isn't this crazy?!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At the beach, embarrassed by my stomach

23 or 24 years old at CBGB's, NYC

Standing outside of a metal show, 24 years old

24 years old, top of the Empire State Building, depressed

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There you go.. now you’ve seen it.  Looking at some of these photos takes me back to a place (mentally) I would prefer not to go back to.  I was horribly depressed during some of these times.  Actually, the photo snapped of me at CBGB’s, was the night that my ex told me I was dressed inappropriately.  I was.. hello.. my stomach was hanging out!

That’s beside the point.  The point I’m trying to make here is that I overcame this.  And so have millions of other folks who have decided to take control of their lives and make a change.

Whatever the reason is, know & have confidence that you can do it too.  And I can help.  Let me know what you want and we will make it happen.

 

Kyra,

The Get In Shape Girl

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “No One Believes… I Used to be Fat”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

I know I keep saying this- but that’s not to say i don’t mean it… But this is my favorite blog of yours so far. Really takes you to a level- so relatable, so vulnerable, so real. Thanks for sharing this. Its really powerful.

Thanks love. I want to put it out there that I wasn’t always thin and athletic. Many of my clients don’t think I can relate to them in any way because they’ve only known me at this stage of my life.

Sure, I wasn’t obese, but I was heading down that road and I want them to know that I have had to make changes and sacrifices too.

Let me start by saying that I love ya girl! I’ve really enjoyed your blog over the past year… this post though… I get that you were unhealthy and not comfortable in you body, but let’s not start saying you were “fat”– maybe overweight, maybe heavier than you wanted– but the country is filled with anorexics and obese people (neither which is desirable, but which are more connected that you might imagine)– there needs to be a focus on healthy living over size labeling. saying you were “fat” makes me uncomfortable as someone that is slightly bigger than your size and working on improving myself- i also used to be “thin,” but starved myself- does that make it okay? I’m sorry about going off on you in the post, but as a dedicated reader, I just wanted to share my opinion.

It’s all good, girl! I understand that the words I chose may not have been “politically correct,” but that ain’t my style! To me, I considered myself fat. I was absolutely overweight. Now, to some I may not have been “fat,” but to me, I was.

“Overweight,” “anorexic,” and “obese” are all scientific and measurable terms. “Fat” is in the eye of the beholder.

Keep reading.. keep giving me your opinion… just ’cause I say something doesn’t mean I am always right for saying so!!

Well done for your amazing transformation and looking so well! You keep me motivated to stay in shape and eat well.

glad i can be of help to you susan! you are quite amazing yourself.

LOVE LOVE LOVE this post!!! Thanks for being “real”, and for putting yourself out there for all to see.
You’re absolutely right. When people only know you for the now, me included, it’s hard to picture you as anything but.
You have come a long way and should be proud.
I got back into the gym today for the first time in over a month. Felt great, and I feel even better coming to blogs like yours for inspiration!

xoxo
Roxie-Girl

glad you are doing that for yourself girl. you better stick to it and stop by my fb page and tell me all about the changes you are noticing in your body!!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

