Learning How to Fall With a Snowboard Attached to My Feet

Posted on February 23, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |

A couple of weeks ago I hit the (bunny) slopes to learn to snow board.  I have skiied my whole life, but never attempted snow boarding.  On my first try up the tow rope I fell a couple of times.  On my first few trips down the hill I fell almost continuously.  But after about three tries I made it the whole way down.  I didn’t have a lesson, I still have no idea what I am doing, but I made it.  I credit 100% of it to my body’s strength.

Many folks tend to forget, we strength train TO GET STRONGER.  That being said, when weights become light and you can perform your exercises for a full set of 12 – 15 reps (generally) without your form breaking down, get heavier weights!!!  Just do less reps.  It’s that simple.  For my clients looking to lose fat, gain muscle and get stronger, I typically have them working in the 8 – 12 rep range.  When 12 is easy, they increase their weight and decrease their reps.  I’ve been training in this fashion for several years now and because I am strong, I taught myself to snow board.

For snowboarding specifically, these are the main muscle groups used:

  • Core (abdominal/ low back/ hip region and everything connected to them) for balance.
  • Feet and ankle.  Your feet and ankle muscles will be working to help you make cuts and turns. Your foot contains more than 100 muscles, tendons and ligaments, and these muscles need strength.
  • Upper thighs (Hamstrings & Quadriceps) used while boarding downhill.
  • Hip & glutes.  They will help you steer & carve.  And if you are like me, your glutes will be there to catch you!
  • Arms/ shoulders.  Because if you are like me, they need to be strong to help you get back up!

So here’s a couple of exercises you can do to strengthen these muscles before hitting the slopes!

Leg raises while lying on back.  Make sure your lower back stays on the floor to help strengthen your low back, and the raising and lowering in a controlled fashion will help strengthen the abdominals and hip flexors as well.

Sit ups.  This will help your tummy be strong enough to help get you up if you fall like I do!

Plank.  General deep core strengthening.

Stair climbs.  This will help strengthen your feet and ankles, as well as you hamstrings and glutes.  And it will give you a better booty in the process!

Squat jumps.  This will strengthen your hams, quads, hips, glutes, ankles, feet and knees!  And your heart!  Too many important muscles to pass this exercise up!

Tricep dips.  I felt like every time I had to get up I was doing a tricep dip because I was pushing myself up from behind.  This will strengthen your arms and shoulders.

Wall sit.  This will help build strength in your quads, hams and glutes as well as build your lower body strength endurance.  Be ready for your legs to be on fire by holding this for at least a minute at a time!  Add some dumbbells in your hands to make it tougher!

And now, for your enjoyment, here’s a video of me, attempting to snowboard.  You have my permission to laugh!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

