Sunday Funday Fish Tacos

Posted on January 18, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |

Sunday before the Pats/ Jets game disappointment I was at the grocery store and found this:

Way too many calories/ sugar for absolutely no reason!

I don’t understand what about football necessitates a cake?!?!  I understand tailgating or having friends over and having wings, chips and beer because that is the American foods associated with sports.  But cake?  It’s not even necessary and it irritates me that someone thought we need to overload ourselves with yet MORE calories and sugar, unnecessarily.

Last Sunday I posted on Facebook about that stupid cake and about our delicious and healthy fish tacos.  Here is my recipe:

Ingredients:

1 Mahi Mahi filet

2 whole wheat Joseph’s wraps

1 cup of shredded lettuce

1/4 cup black beans

2 slices of tomato, diced

1 tablespoon diced onion

1 tablespoons fat free sour cream

2 tablespoons Newman’s own organic salsa

Cilantro

Directions:

We put our mahi mahi in a frying pan to cook, but you could cook it any way you like.

While that is cooking, dice tomato, onion and put together in a bowl and sprinkle with cilantro.

Microwave the wraps, wrapped in a wet paper towel to hold in moisture, for 20 seconds.

Put the fish and any toppings you’d like in the wrap!

This seriously takes about 10 minutes.

Nutrition facts:

Calories – 433

Carbs – 43 g

Fat – 6g

Protein – 60 g

Tastes great even without the Old Bay.. and lower in sodium!

The toppings

Fish Tacos!!

 

Kyra Williams,

The Get in Shape Girl

 

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Sunday Funday Fish Tacos”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

Mmmm I love fish tacos! Actually, I love tacos in general. Now that I’m going vegan I’ll have to play around with meatless varieties.

I was wondering if you would help me design a gym routine/plan? I’m not looking to get super toned but just drop some weight first, and I find I’m feeling a bit lost in the gym!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

