Spaghetti Squash and Ricotta Casserole

Posted on December 30, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |

I have no idea what to call this.  I was at the food store the other day and I thought in my head that I wanted to eat something that tasted like baked ziti, but by no means was I about to make and eat pasta.  So I came up with this:

Ingredients:

1 spaghetti squash (mine came out to about 6 cups of spaghetti squash once it’s cooked)

24 ounces no sodium added tomato sauce

2 medium tomatoes, diced

4 tablespoons diced onion

1 lb ground turkey breast

16 ounces fat free ricotta

1/2 cup fat free parmesan grated cheese

16 ounces mushroom pieces

Italian spices (oregano, sage, parsley) to taste

Garlic powder to taste

Directions:

Cook spaghetti squash, cut and gut, then place into large mixing bowl.

Cook ground turkey breast in pan on stove.

Add all of the ingredients EXCEPT parmesan into the bowl with spaghetti squash and mix together.

Add however much spice and garlic you would like.

Put it all in a large casserole dish, then top with parm.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 – 30 minutes, until the parm topping is melted.

Nutrition facts:

Makes 6 servings.

Calories – 304

Fat – .5g

Sodium – 813mg

Cholesterol – 40

Carbs – 34g

Fiber – 6g

Sugar – 16g

Protein – 28g

Spaghetti Squash Casserole

**Next time I would add more ground turkey.**

 

Kyra Wiliams,

The Get In Shape Girl

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “Spaghetti Squash and Ricotta Casserole”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

I thought it was very good that I went in for seconds at 1030!

The spaghetti squash casserole was very good. My son asked if it had spaghetti in it. I said yes… I just didn’t say it was spaghetti squash and not pasta spaghetti! 😉 He ate it up nicely. Thanks for sharing it.

I’m glad to know I’m not the only one in love with spaghetti squash. Using this, I NEVER miss pasta!

I just tried this since I had a few things I needed to use up. I used 93/7 ground beef instead since I didn’t have any ground turkey and it turned out great! Even my picky boyfriend ate it! Thanks!

Great Ashley!! I love ground beef for this too! It’s nice to change up the protein sometimes. Glad you guys enjoyed!

Ok I’m newly obsessed w spaghetti squash. I cant wait to make-and share-your recipe as soon as my ghetto groc store stocks it! One of my girls here cooked a great meal for valentines dinner w/it using mushrooms, fire roasted tomatoes for extra kick, garlic and I think chicken sausage… Sooo delishXxoo


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

