Inversions & Arm Balances workshop at Prana

Posted on November 1, 2010. Filed under: bikram, get in shape, getting in shape, personal trainer in ma, personal trainer in medford, personal trainer in peabody, power yoga, stop drop and yoga, The Get In Shape Girl, yoga reviews in medford |

Saturday afternoon I DID NOT watch college football from 1 – 3 and attended the Arm Balances & Inversions workshop with Alex at Prana Power Yoga in Newton, MA.  I have been practicing yoga regularly for almost three years now, and have been practicing in a heated studio for nearly five months, regularly, now.  I consider myself to be very strong in my poses & knowledgeable about what to do in each pose, how to feel, etc.  One thing we sometimes do in yoga but do not always have the chance to get into, and definitely not hold, are arm balances & inversions.  I remember my first crow, I was in Sammi’s class and I was like “what the heck is this.. how do i??  grrrrr i NEED to be able to do this!!!” and I figured it out & asked many times to practice it during her classes.  I got it & after about 10 more tries I was able to get that last toe off the floor & totally elevate myself on my arms.  Anyway, nowadays I come into crow & side crow regularly in my practice but there are others I don’t even know, much less practice, such as..

 

Astavakrasana

I ALMOST got into that one!  But I did practice my crow, side crow, single arm side crow and side crow with extended legs.

 

Then we practiced all kinds of inversions.  I could already do tripod headstand, supported headstand & shoulder stand, but I’ve been super scared for a long time to do a hand stand.  Even against the wall I’ve tried so many times I throw my feet up, then kick myself away from the wall because I freak out!  I giggle & squeal so much there’s no way I’m going to dare try to do it in a yoga class where it’s quiet!  Anyway, I tried and my friend Carrie laughed & I laughed then the assistant came over and helped me get both of my feet up & I held my feet against the wall in a hand stand for a while.  I tried to tuck my belly button & get my hips over my stomach to stay with my feet in the air away from the wall but i fell pretty quickly.  Oh well, I accomplished something I’ve never been able to do before just by keeping my feet up on my own!!  We also learned forearm stand & I felt really comfortable here, like I could almost do a back bend from here one day…

Pincha Mayurasana

 

It was an overall incredible experience.  I had never been to the studio in Newton before & I can say it’s definitely a very nice place.  I really like my Winchester studio the best of any place I’ve been so far, but everyone was super nice & it was really clean here too which is HUGE for me.  Alex, the instructor gave really great cues on how to get into each position & between him and the assistant we were all able to do nearly everything they taught us.  I would love to take one of his classes because he is so well spoken.  Now I can’t wait to practice again tomorrow and hopefully try out some of the new poses I learned!!

 

Kyra Williams,

The Get In Shape Girl

 

*Photos courtesy of Yoga Journal.com*

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Inversions & Arm Balances workshop at Prana”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

I’ve made it one of my goals to try yoga a few more times this year, particularly the kinds you mentioned a few weeks ago.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

