West Coast Vacation Blog, Part I

Posted on October 23, 2010. Filed under: exercise, fitness while traveling, get in shape, getting in shape, losing weight, personal trainer in ma, personal trainer in medford, personal trainer in peabody, The Get In Shape Girl, Uncategorized, workout, yoga |

As many of you know I was just traveling around the west coast of the best GD country in the world!  haha.  I began my travels on Friday, October 8th in San Diego, California.  I arrived after a 7 hour direct flight on Jet Blue and headed straight to the Beach Haven Inn, in Pacific Beach.  Such a cute little motel, definitely family owned and operated, which granted us a great rate, a clean room & lots of space completely with a kitchenette.  It was perfect!!  Ryan and I headed to the PB Ale House to grab some food & a drink.  I ordered a seared tuna sandwich, which are oddly popular in SoCal.  It’s literally a seasoned & seared tuna steak on a bun for a decent price.  It was probably previously frozen but I thought it was fantastic.  I saw this on several menus while visiting the area.  I mean it’s great for me because tuna is one of my favorite fish & it’s inexpensive this way.

Saturday morning we woke up and walked a block west to the boardwalk where we ran south for a couple of miles, passing lots of gorgeous summer rental homes, bars, a festival being set up, the pier, an amusement park, & lots of other walkers, runners, skateboarders, bikers & rollerbladers.  I swear, it is EXACTLY what you would expect from SoCal.

This is where I fell in love.  It was sunny & warm, but very comfortable.  Passing all of the other active people made me want to keep going.  It’s so helpful when you are running and pass by other runners.. you just get so motivated.  I also met another personal trainer while I was running named Dana Tasco.  We chatted for a bit about being in the industry, and what she does now.  I think the greatest part of it was that she was from North Carolina orginally!!  Also, this is when I filmed this video..

Anyway, Ryan and I spent the rest of the day making our way through PB watching football, eating delicious Mexican food & soaking in the sunhine 🙂

I also thought this pic was funny.  Everywhere you look you see these Bird of Paradise plants.  Well I’ve heard form many folks that these “flowers” are very difficult to get to bloom from their plants.  They were EVERYWHERE in San Diego.  So I had to…

Bird of Paradise

Sunday we checked out of the adorable little hotel in PB and drove north to the Del Mar area where we had lunch, checked out the beach, drove by Torrey Pines & just drove around.  I LOVE it there too!  Everyone is outside.  People go for walks, runs, bike rides, hikes, they surf, they skate they’re just OUT DOORS!!  I mean, the weather is pretty much perfect year ’round so you sort of expect it, but I’m now convinced I have to live there.  There are yoga studios all over the place too!  I’m obsessed.  For lunch I had fish tacos.  Grilled mahi mahi (my other favorite fish) with cheese, sour cream, lettuce, tomato on corn tortillas.  I’ll be blogging soon when I create The Get In Shape Girl approved fish tacos!!

Then we headed to Coronado Island where we visited the setting of the Marilyn Monroe film, ‘Some Like It Hot,’ the Hotel del Coronado.

Hotel del Coronado

Shortly after our island adventure we headed to the airport to catch our flight to Arizona.  I’ll write about that in part two of the West Coast Vacation Blog.  So long San Diego.. but not for long.. I promise.

Kyra Williams,

The Get In Shape Girl

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “West Coast Vacation Blog, Part I”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

I always love reading your blogs, they are so motivating. What a great beach workout!

Wow, it’s gorgeous there! Love the vid!

My husband is from San Diego, so when we started dating, I’d fly out (from MN) to visit him there and fell in LOVE with the area for the same reasons you mention above! Now he’s moved to MN to be with me, but we still try to visit at least once per year…someday we’ll live there….someday…. 🙂

As a Newbie, I am always searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

