My Review of PB2, Powdered Peanut Butter

Posted on October 7, 2010. Filed under: clean eating, fitness, get in shape, getting in shape, gyms in peabody, PB2, peanut butter eaters anonymous, personal trainer in ma, personal trainer in medford, personal trainer in peabody, protein shake recipes, The Get In Shape Girl, The Shred |

 

I had heard about this stuff from a Sparkfriend a while back and the concept of it scared me.  I mean, it’s a powder substance that you mix with water and it turns to “peanut butter”.  Fast forward to now.  I am 100% a peanut butter-holic.  I need to be in some kind of weekly group meetings where I have to stand up and say, “My name is Kyra and I am addicted to peanut butter.”  It’s disgusting how I can eat half a jar in one sitting.  I cannot purchase regular pb anymore.  I switched to all natural in attempt to stop eating it with a spoon, and I have even come to acquire the taste for that just as well and will eat 12 servings of it all at once.  Anyway, a client and I were discussing one day how awesome peanut butter is and she mentioned the PB2 and I told her how I’m hesitant to try it.  She found a place nearby that sells it and bought some for herself and was raving about it, and even brought me a jar!

I’ve used the PB2 twice so far.  I mixed it this morning in my smoothie, with ice, almond milk, banana & chocolate protein powder.  I used 1 tablespoon in the shake just like I would regular peanut butter.  The shake was awesome.  It tasted exactly the same!  Then I mixed it just like the directions say this afternoon:  2 tablespoons of powder & 1 tablespoon water.  (Be careful not to add too much water or it WILL be runny.)  I spread it over my toast (it spreads easily) and proceeded to eat and it was wonderful!  The taste is EXACTLY of peanut butter.  The consistency is about the same.. maybe a little thin compared to regular pb.  And I even tried a little out of the spoon and it was tasty!  But the great thing about this stuff is that I’m not gonna go out of my way to mix up some pb to eat it out of the jar like I do with regular pb around the house.

Some of you may still be a bit skeptical but this is the ingredient list:

  • roasted peanuts
  • sugar
  • salt

The peanuts are slow roasted (in the wonderful state of Georgia I might add!) then pressed to remove the fat & oil.

Nutrition facts: (2 tablespoons of powder)

Cals – 45

Fat – 1.5g

Sodium – 94 mg

Carb – 5g

Fiber – 2 g

Sugar – 1g

Protein – 5g

So even if it isn’t EXACTLY peanut butter, it’s nothing unnatural or creepy like I had thought.  And if it’s what I have to do to be skinny & keep having pb in my life, I’ll take it!!!!

Here’s the website where you can purchase, learn more or find recipes!

Kyra Williams,

The Get In Shape Girl

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “My Review of PB2, Powdered Peanut Butter”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

I might have to try this, I just stopped buying a naturally more peanut butter because I could literally eat it by the spoonfuls too. It was kind of disquisting me but instead of ice cream and cookies, it was peanut butter. I may have to try this, it’s less dangerous and takes more work to prepare so hopefully I wouldn’t keep going back for more!!

Next add vanilla, peanut butter and oatmeal and thoroughly combine. Nutritions

just ordered it and i cant wait to try it. thanks for the tip! love your blog by the way!

I want to try! I wonder where I could buy it around here… Hmm…


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

