Boneless Buffalo Tenders: A Love Affair

Posted on September 15, 2010. Filed under: clean eating, get in shape, getting in shape, healthy football food, personal trainer in ma, personal trainer in medford, personal trainer in peabody, The Get In Shape Girl, The Shred |

Tasty lil’ nuggets

How I love thee more than words

You are delicious.

Ummm…  I don’t know if you noticed… but that was a haiku.  hahahahaha.

Growing up I was a fan of chicken fingers.  Crispy. Breaded.  Deep fried.  With honey mustard.  Who even knew there was chicken in there?  Then I went veg, then I became a health nut and though I have not had them in ages, I still know they exist & are tasty, but I can outrun them when I hear them calling my name.  Then there was a night in my life, about a year ago where I was at an after party for a wedding, and my friend Jim had ordered boneless buffalo tenders.  I had sworn time and time again I didn’t like buffalo sauce and didn’t understand what the big deal was.  But that night my virgin taste buds decided to try something a little risque, and I gave in to the shiny reddish-orange fellas.  It was love.  I wouldn’t leave the bar until they were gone.  I told my boyfriend of this the next day and even he was in disbelief.

Then weeks later I went with my boyfriend to eat & watch some football at another establishment nearby known as the 99.  It’s well known and loved up here in New England but I never understood the big deal.  I thought it was all really bad frozen then re-heated food.  But nevertheless I went & watched Ry order the (boneless) wings & skins sampler.  There they were.. crispy, breaded & fried.. with that reddish-orange glow that hinted “eat me,” “eat me,” each time they caught my eye.  I spent the rest of the time there chowing down on his food because they were just too good.  I knew at that point there was no turning back.

Since then I’ve been hooked.  The tenders at the 99 are incredible.. some of my favorites.  They’re great at the Soho Tavern in Tampa.  They are great at the ESPN Zones across America.  Pretty much any sports bar that serves food has great buffalo tenders.. they are hard to mess up!  But I’m telling you.. they are now hands down one of my favorite guilty pleasures.

BUT.. the problem is.. they are breaded!!!  They are fried!!!  And the sauce is loaded with sugar & sodium!!!!  So a follower of The Get In Shape Girl sent me her recipe for these tasty little nuggets to have a GISG approved version of BBT.  Last night I made them and I have to say, they are absolutely Get In Shape Girl (and Ryan) approved!

1. First I cut the tendons & excess fat off of chicken breast tenders, then cut them into thirds.

2. Then I used about a third of the Bottle of Wing It Sauce to cover the chicken.

(Click on the above link to learn more about this sauce.  It has 0 cals, fat, sugar, etc.  The only thing it does have is some sodium, but it’s less than half of what most other sauces have.)

3. I used 3/4 cup of whole wheat bread crumbs & added some onion powder, garlic, black pepper & oregano to the mixture & sifted.

4. Then you take the sauce covered chicken and roll it in the bread crumb mixture, completely covering the pieces, and lay on a sprayed baking sheet.

ready to bake

5. Bake at 400 degrees for 10 minutes, then flipping for 10 more minutes, then broiling for about 5 minutes to make them nice and crispy.

crispy little nuggets

To finish, I have to say THANK YOU!!!!!  to Meghan from the “So Maybe Mom Was Right” blog for posting these on my facebook page!!!  These are going into my repertoire.  They may not be oozing with sauce, but I can tell you after I eat them I don’t feel as though I immediately need to go run 14 miles to make up for the calorie intake.  And the Wing It Sauce was just perfect.  It has a great flavor, has very few ingredients & is all natural!!!

Using 1 package of chicken, 3/4 cup of wheat bread crumbs, and about a 3rd of the bottle of sauce, it made what I would consider 3 servings of boneless buffalo tender nuggets.  Here are the nutrition facts for 1 serving.

Cals – 235

Fat – 2.5 g

Sodium – 2684 mg

Carbs – 16g

Fiber – 2g

Sugar – 2g

Protein – 34g

Kyra Williams,

The Get In Shape Girl

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “Boneless Buffalo Tenders: A Love Affair”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

sooooo doing this!! another quick buffalo craving fix: microwave a little philly fat free cream cheese, mix in franks red hot until the desired deliciousness is reached, dip baby carrots and nom nom nom

So glad you liked them! Now I have to try your version because they look healthier!

I’ll have to look for the Wing It sauce. DH would love these!! Thanks for an awesome recipe.

we made them with Frank’s Red Hot (original) sauce…Fan-freakin’-tastic!! 🙂

Thank you so much-Love the way you look-you look amazing. I saw what you wrote to me on the Oxygen magazine. I have gotten rid of the junk in my diet. I am doing very well.

That’s fantastic. Keep up the good work!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

