Oxygen article with the greatest perspective on food

Posted on September 9, 2010. Filed under: eating clean, get in shape, getting in shape, gyms in peabody, personal trainer in ma, personal trainer in medford, personal trainer in peabody, The Get In Shape Girl |

Yesterday as I was getting my hair done in Boston I was reading an article from the September 2010 issue of Oxygen magazine.  For those of you unfamiliar with this publication, it is probably the most legit magazine out there.  It contains very detailed articles on how to build muscle, eat clean & real stories.  It contains no fluff or bs about how you can walk your way to a size 0 by next week.  Anyhow, in an article written by the publisher Robert Kennedy, he wrote the following:

“I mention the importance of clean eating because exercise alone doesn’t cut it.  Read this three times: You can’t wipe out the damage that a Big Mac and fries with a large cola does with any amount of exercise.  Contrary to popular opinion, it just doesn’t work that way.  Ironically, hundreds of thousands of individuals in North America think that because they go to the gym on a regular basis, that earns them the right to indulge in what’s now recognized as a typical North American way of eating.  I’ll repeat myself: it doesn’t work that way!

The eating habits of most people in the western world are atrocious.  They do not lend themselves to fitness, health or physique.  If you want a body free of superfluous fat you have to eat the correct foods, nutrition where every mouthful contributes to the betterment of your fitness, health & physique.”

I have never read any words that put it any better than this man has in this article.  If you do not go to the gym & you eat poorly you will be fat & unhealthy & you cannot blame anyone but yourself for that.  If you go to the gym but still make poor eating choices it will do you no good.  You will not lose weight or change the way you look.  If you have cheat meals on weekends you are only cheating yourself.  I have been that girl on and off for a very long time.  I used to eat really bad Friday to Monday morning and worked out 2 or more hours a day and I looked decent, but could have looked better.  When I began cleaning up my eating on the weekends I started to lose a little fat from my abs.  When I cleaned up my eating 100% I saw an amazing difference.  (You can see the proof in the photos from The Shred.)

Every moment of every day you make a choice.  You make a choice to accomplish your goals bite by bite & sip by sip.  Do you really want to get rid of that doughnut around your waist?  Do you really want to diminish the cellulite above your knees?  Do you really want to fit into a dress that isn’t in the misses section?  What is more important to you.. that cookie or the abs?  … the wine or no cellulite?  … the burger & fries or the new dress?

I’m guilty, we all are.  I won’t sit here and tell you I make the right decision every moment of every day, but I am the one who has to live with that.  So if it’s that important to you, you will read, re-read & read again what Robert Kennedy said in that article and THINK every time you find yourself staring in your cabinets.

Kyra Williams,

The Get In Shape Girl

P.S. Just for fun.. Here’s a pic from right after my hair appt.  I was shopping on Newbury street in Boston and I packed this little treat: greek yogurt, 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder, and a handful of berries.

Hope this gives you guys some inspiration!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Oxygen article with the greatest perspective on food”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

So true! It’s really a 75% eating/25% exercise ratio to make an impact on the body. Good stuff, Kyra.

I just want to say I’ve been silently lurking for a little while now and you are a huge inspiration to me!!!! You’re what’s gotten me to recommit to exercising and doing it differently than other times. Im following a similar meal plan to yours but cant commit to going to the gym because my hubby works (3am-5pm) and then is in bed by 7 and wants dinner and to spend time together obviously and I have a full time job PLUS our 18 month old hinders me from just going to the gym quickly lol. So, I just wanted to tell you that you never know whos life you might be changing so please dont stop posting! 🙂
Thank you for all your great tips, motivation and for posting a meal plan!!!!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

