The Shred: The Rules/ FAQ’s

Posted on August 27, 2010. Filed under: get in shape, getting in shape, personal trainer in ma, personal trainer in medford, personal trainer in peabody, The Get In Shape Girl, The Shred |

1. You must eat every 2 – 3 hours
2. You must eat 6 ounces of lean protein or a shake at each meal (i.e. fish, chicken breast, turkey breast, steak, egg whites, protein powder)
3. You must eat app 4 ounces of a complex carb at each meal (i.e. brown rice, sweet potato, oatmeal, broccoli, asparagus, spinach)
4. Drink a gallon of water each day to flush your kidneys. (This isn’t really a rule, but it’s advisable because when you get around 200g of protein a day it’s necessary.)

FAQ’s:
1. What is the amount of protein/carbs/fat/ cals I need in a day?
It varies by each person. I don’t really know if you should have more if you weigh more than me.. I would just google body building diets if I were you.
2. What are the ratios?
Mine were all over the place. There really aren’t any specific ones you need to hit. if you eat as prescribed above you’ll be fine.
I am vegetarian/ vegan. Can I still do the cut?
You are probably going to have to eat an assload of fake meat, which most likely means your sodium is going to be very high. This will make you bloated, thus defeating the purpose. Get used to protein powder.
I’m not hungry in the morning, do I really have to eat?
Yes. You need to get your metabolism going. If you can’t stomach anything else drink a protein shake.
What kind of protein powder do you prefer?
Right now I’m on EAS vanilla. But I purchase whatever is at my grocery store that has the most protein/ least sugar carbs.
Can I drink alcohol?
You shouldn’t. It will be more effective if you don’t. Alcohol = sugar. It also slows your metabolism down for 72 hours. Just one drink can set you back a few days.
What can I drink other than water?
I drank Sugar Free Rockstar & Redbull as well as coffee. I know you can have coffee & tea, but I drink energy drinks. It’s what I do. I don’t care if it set me back .10% I drink energy drinks.
Can I have fruit or dairy?
No. Fruit = fructose = sugar. Dairy = lactose = sugar.
That seems like a lot of food. What if I can’t eat all of that?
I suppose you could cut back ounce by ounce. So if you cut an ounce of protein, cut an ounce of the carb. You have to eat every 3 hours though. It isn’t The Shred if you don’t.
I get tired of eating the same things over and over again. What do I do?
Get over it.
What kind of condiments can I have?
Mustard, hot sauce, balsamic vinegar, lemon juice, lots and lots of herbs & seasonings. No salt. No oils. No ketchup. No tomato sauce.. hello.. it’s tomato, FRUIT!
Should I watch the Jersey Shore while eating my meals?
It has been known to make the Shred far more effective. I highly recommend it!

Kyra Williams,
The Get In Shape Girl

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “The Shred: The Rules/ FAQ’s”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

hahaha! i love the final tip/faq! it makes the shred seem more legit 🙂

Freakin’ awesome – going to eat some egg whites & get my workout on! Thanks for posting this – perfect info!

wow, intense but worthwhile. Did you come up with the shred?


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

