A little motivation goes a long way

Posted on June 7, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I noticed when I came back from Tampa a couple weeks ago I started letting myself slip.  I would let myself have unclean food here and there between meals.. I stopped doing two-a-days.. I just wasn’t feelin’ it.  I totally understand that you can’t give 110% every single day, but to lose focus is just unlike me.  Then I realized that I was working extra hard so I could look my best on that trip.  I knew being around a lot of people in a bikini and taking pics with friends was a big, big motivation for me.  So coming home from that trip I guess in the back of my head I knew it was over and I could let myself go into maintenance mode.

After a couple of weeks I knew I had to make myself really bust my tail again but aside from my birthday party in mid-August, I couldn’t think of a reason to get motivated.  I finally concluded I want to run the 10K Peachtree Roadrace in Atlanta in a sports bra.  That race is 4th of July weekend so I have determined a date that is more attainable than mid-August.  For some people a date further away works better, but for me, I need one that isn’t so far out.

The point to this blog is this: If you determine a goal it will be a HUGE motivator to keep you on track.  It will make you think twice about whether or not you should eat that cookie.  It will make you run a little faster, or run that extra mile.  And it will make you get off the couch on a Sunday morning to hit the gym.  Not having a goal is like walking around with nowhere to go.  So let’s get a goal, here’s some hints and ideas:

– Are you running a road race?  If so, there you go.  If not, sign up for one.  Check out http://www.active.com

– Are you going to be in some other sort of athletic event?

– Are you going on vacation?

– Are you going to be in a wedding or attending some sort of reunion event?

– Are you going to a pool party or some sort of event that requires being in a bikini?

If none of these types of events apply to you or would be motivational to you, suppose you set a goal date with a friend or trainer that you will lose 5 pounds or 2 % body fat.  Having that exact date will help keep you on track.  And having a clearly defined goal will also help.  Saying “I want to look good,” may not be enough.  Try these:

– Take a body fat measurement and consider lowering your body fat

– Set out to drop a few pounds

– Taking photos will help to see the before and after

– Take circumference measurements and ascertain to increase or decrease those, depending on your goal

– Have a goal time you want to reach in your road race based on past times

– Determine a specific weight you want to squat or bench by a specific date

When you can set very specific details to your goal the more likely you are to be on track.  And if you can find a friend or family member to hold you accountable that will also be extremely helpful.  Then decide HOW you are going to reach that goal and stick to it!!  Here’s my example:

What and When:  July 4th I am going to run a 10K in a sports bra.  (This is a little vague, but I am basing it on what I see in the mirror.)

How: Do yoga 3 times a week, go to CATZ 3 – 4 times a week, run twice a week and do ab sessions 2 – 3 times a week.  No alcohol and clean eating 7 days a week.

Here’s my before photo:

And you guys are going to hold me responsible for this goal.

Hope that this is helpful to you guys!

Kyra Williams,

The Get In Shape Girl

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “A little motivation goes a long way”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

Ummm, newsflash girlfriend, you could run that 10K tomorrow with just a sports bra and still look better than 95% of the general population. You look great!!

P.S- can you bottle your drive to eat so well and sell some to me????

I live in Atlanta and am running the Peachtree. I don’t know if you know this, but registration for the Peachtree Raodrace closed within 4 hours. There were lots of people that didn’t get numbers because it was capped.

Excellent post, know exactly what you mean as I am in a bit of an unmotivated phunk at the moment myself, due to a combination of factors both within and outside of my control. Sadly mine’s been going for more than 2 days, so I’m very impressed/jealous!! (but not surprised) you’ve turned yours around so quickly.

I think I need both a short and longer term goal to get that fire burning brightly again, while I had something in mind I was waiting on commitment from someone else, silly move obviously.

Many thanks for the kick start inspiration, do you have a target finishing time for the 10k race?

Oh and best of luck with your first real life client, I’m sure you’ll be a fab trainer!

Kyra-great blog. I am running. 15 k race in july which is my motivation!! That and the wedding this weekend lol. Keep up the great work


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

