March 2010 Body Experiment/ Providence Half Marathon Training

Posted on March 19, 2010. Filed under: athletic training, body weight, caloric intake, calories, carbs, circuit training, clean eating, diet, eating clean, eating healthy, exercise, fat, fat loss, fitness, food, get fit, get in shape, getting in shape, half marathons, health, healthy food, heart rate, jogging, lifting, lose weight, losing weight, low carb, marathon, nutrition, Personal training, resistance training, road races, running, runs, Strength training, stretching, weight lifting, weight loss, weight training, workout, yoga |

I have decided to do a little experiment with my body. I’ve been stuck at 127 – 129 pounds for the last couple of months. I want to see that number go below 125, and it comes at a perfect time because I am running another half marathon on May 2nd so I need to increase my running. This is my typical week currently:
Monday – yoga & CATZ
Tuesday – CATZ
Wednesday – yoga & CATZ
Thursday – CATZ
Friday – run a few miles
Saturday – CATZ & maybe run a few miles
Sunday – off
I also eat around or over 1700 calories each day, under 200 calories, around 60 grams of fat and over 120 grams of protein.

Here’s the new plan:
Monday – yoga & CATZ
Tuesday – CATZ
Wednesday – run 5 miles & yoga
Thursday – run 3 miles & yoga
Friday – CATZ
Saturday – long run, 8 miles+

So last night I measured my body fat with the calipers I bought at GNC. It gave me a reading of 17.0% the first time, and 19.0% the second time. So let’s say 18%.

Then i went to http://www.healthcentral.com/cholesterol/home-body-fat-test-2774-143.html and it told me 15.9%.

Then i went to http://www.scientificpsychic.com/fitness/diet.html which is the most detailed and it told me 21.2%.

So we’ll say I’m in the 18 – 21% range which is great considering..
Women Men
Essential fat 10-12% 2-4%
Athletes 14-20% 6-13%
Fitness 21-24% 14-17%
Acceptable 25-31% 18-25%
Obese 32% + 26% +

So we’ll see what happens as I change my workouts. I want to keep lifting some, but run and do more yoga than usual. My calorie goal is 1700 or less, fat under 60, carbs well under 200 and protein still high, above 120 grams.

I’ll keep you all updated!

Kyra Williams
The Get In Shape Girl

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

