Run to the hills… Run for your lives…

Posted on October 30, 2009. Filed under: athletic training, beauty, diet, exercise, fitness, health, lifting, running, weight lifting, weight training, workout, yoga |

So those are lyrics to an Iron Maiden song and that is actually quite suiting because I love to listen to metal when I run. It is fast and upbeat and sometimes angry and it keeps me going. A good playlist is a necessity when trying to run. I always thought I should stick with hip hop and upbeat pop until one day I was running and my friends band came on and I suddenly felt like I could keep going. So now I loaded a lot more metal onto my iPod and I run to it… Slayer is my favorite so far. You would never think about this blonde girl with a ribbon in her hair a pink shorts on is rockin out to Slayer would you?

The second weekend of January I am signed up to run a half marathon at Disney with my boyfriend and some friends. It’s 10 weeks away so I’m officially in training. My boyfriend is a marathon runner so according to him going to CATZ is already training, and I do believe it. But I need to get my body accustomed to running longer distances. When I lived in Florida I would run 3 or 4 times a week anywhere between 3 and 8 miles. (The 8 miler I was with someone so my mind was occupied.) I also ran a 5 mile road race in May of 2008 and my time was 47:45. I did the same road race in May 2009, after training at CATZ for 5 months and my time was 42:01, so clearly CATZ has helped. But I need my brain to not be so bored when I run. When I run fast for a while want to vomit and have a heart attack at the same time, so I definitely can’t run outside with my boyfriend. And even stepping outdoors, much less running outside for a long period of time when it is below 60 degrees is not something I am interested in. So I hit the pavement, errr.. I mean treadmill every Saturday when there are good football games on. Last weekend I flipped back and forth between Alabama vs. Tennessee, Notre Dame vs. Boston College and Michigan vs. Penn State.

I think with my training at CATZ 4 times a week, I can get away with running twice a week for now, and maybe around Thanksgiving kick it up to 3 times a week, and one less CATZ workout. So one week day/ week I’m going to be running 3 – 5 miles and Saturdays will be my long run days. I have read a lot of programs that basically tell you to increase your long weekend runs by a mile every week. So far I have done a 6 mile and last Saturday I did a 8.5. So this Saturday I will hit the treadmill for 9 miles while I watch football. My goal is also on the weekday short runs I will not stop unless I just need to grab a sip of water or make a clothing adjustment. (I am not down with my butt crack hangin out or any camel toe spottings.) And my goal on Saturdays is that I can walk a little bit, and it will count as part of the full mileage.

Are any of you experienced runners who can give me some advice or how you think I should tweak this?

Kyra Williams
The get In Shape Girl

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Run to the hills… Run for your lives…”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

hehe, clicked your blog because of the Iron Maden title, there’s nothig like the good old sound of a guitar solo 😉

About working out, thx for reminding me to get back to the regular training, after the exams season i always turn slacker :\

thanks for checking out the blog!!! glad it inspired you.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

