Blog II – The More Recent History

Posted on October 22, 2009. Filed under: athletic training, beauty, diet, exercise, fitness, health, lifting, running, Uncategorized, weight lifting, weight training, workout, yoga |

Upon the request of many I’m posting again. I’ll just start where I left off and explain the more recent history…

I was living in Tampa, partying like a rockstar, but working out hard too. I became a member of a gym near my house where all my friends went. It was awesome seeing so many people I knew there so I loved going, but at the same time, I didn’t always feel comfortable in the free weight area. I mean, I’m a girl and girls get strange looks over there sometimes. Or maybe it was in my head. I was constantly thinking “am I doing this right?” “Is my form off?” “Can they see my panty line or something??!!” I mean, it happens to the best of us! But I had a few friends really into working out so it was nice to go to the gym with them to learn my way around that machines. I also became addicted to spinning and would go twice a week. Every Tuesday our class was 90 minutes.. the floor would be wet with sweat after class, the windows would completely fog up, and it was completely amazing that as group you could create such an effect. Every Thursday i had another great instructor who pushed us HARD. He literally got off his bike and added more resistance to my bike sometimes! He made the greatest playlists. I have recently determined spinning is all about the playlist the instructor makes! I took some ab classes too, but that was about it. Soon after I joined I hired a trainer. I explained exactly what I was looking for in a trainer (you can do that – don’t be shy about it. You are paying good money – you should love your trainer.) Ham was AWESOME. He kicked my butt. He showed me a lot of equipment, how to use it, things I could do on my own and really set me up on a good program I could live with. He told me all along that if I wanted to tighten up I had to STOP DRINKING BEER! I thought I could get away with it… little did I know…

26th bday
My 26th birthday, August 2007

Just over one year ago this weekend I packed up all my stuff and moved to Boston in a big yellow Penske with my long distance boyfriend. I joined a Boston Sports Club across the street from my apartment before I even moved in my apartment. Again I specified exactly what I wanted in a trainer and he was awesome too. The only problem is gyms like these completely overcharge you for training. So for a while I paid out the booty (which was looking pretty good, btw) for personal training and aside from my backside, NOTHING WAS CHANGING! I was doing personal training twice a week, began my love affair with power yoga, spinning twice a week, doing some cardio on my personal time (I would watch entire football games on the treadmill on Saturdays) and doing a little of my own lifting.

Then in January maybe, my friend Katie showed me http://www.sparkpeople.com and how to track your food. On Day 1 of tracking I just listed everything I ate, and I ate like normal. OMG. I was eating like 2500 calories a day. No wonder I would spend 2 hours at the gym and nothing was happening. So I realized what was good and what was bad and made some changes. Also in January I made the best change of my life. I started going to CATZ, Competitive Athletic Training Zone.
http://www.catzsports.com

It’s an hour a day of an ass kicking, sweat dripping workout. The basic jist is you warm up for 10 min, stretch for 10 min, then begin by doing some pro-agility work to make you faster and quicker, with better reaction time, or you’ll do some light work to help your flexibility and stability. Sometimes we also do core work during that time to mix it up as well. After we’re about 25 minutes in, we begin a circuit. There’s a coach to tell us what we’re doing, help us with weight choice and give us the amount of reps. We do 3 – 5 different exercises on the turf then we’ll head over to the track to do some cardio sprinting or once again, something that will raise the heart rate as well as improve our reaction time. We go through this 3 times then break for about 2 minutes. Then we set up for another circuit of 3 – 5 exercises and cardio and go through that 3 times. Then we finish off with some kind of BIG FINISH which could be anything like planks to sprints, or hill sprints, or just a lot of core work, but whatever it is, you can guarantee it’s going to be tough! We really train like, and sometimes with, athletes. It’s hands down the funnest thing I’ve ever done in my life. Between tracking my food, and starting CATZ I went from 140 – 126 since Jan!!!! Oh, and I don’t drink nearly as much beer!!!

catz
(That’s my pic from athlete of the month)

So this has been my training schedule as of lately:
Mon – 6AM light workout (15 min elliptical, abs, stretch), Power Yoga at 5:30, CATZ at 7:30, stretch
Tues – Heavy lifting for my booty AKA BOOTYCAMP, short 3 – 5 mile run, abs, stretch
Wed – 6AM light workout, Power Yoga at 5:30, CATZ at 7:30, stretch
Thurs – CATZ
Fri – 6AM light workout, Heavy lifting for my booty AKA BOOTYCAMP, spot training to specific muscles
Sat – 8AM CATZ, later on a long run 6+ miles for half marathon training
Sun – 90 minute power yoga

28th bday
My 28th birthday, August 2009

Of course life gets in the way and I try to make things up when I miss classes and what not.
I know it seems like a lot, and guess what… IT IS!!! Hahaha. But I’m finally really happy with my body and I can eat a lot, well, let me re-phrase.. I have to eat a lot! My girlfriends eat like half of what I eat, it’s crazy.. I mean i eat more than my boyfriend! But I love, love, love it. As a matter of fact, I’m actually quite exhausted now, but it’s time to go study!!

The Get In Shape Girl,
Kyra Williams

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Blog II – The More Recent History”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

This is a great post

Thank you for share this


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

