My First Blog

Posted on October 20, 2009. Filed under: beauty, diet, exercise, fitness, health, workout |

I’ve never blogged before so bare with me. I have recently been considering purchasing a domain name to begin my own website that will contain a blog, amongst other things. I figured I could start here first to see how committed I will be to writing before I spend the time and money.

I suppose it would make sense for the first blog to really start from the beginning. Growing up I definitely had Barbie as my idea of the true image of beauty. I thought once you had long blonde hair and a tan, life couldn’t get any better. At age 12 I started coloring my brown hair blonde and I’ve been an addict of the bottle ever since! And tanning.. I started that years before! In my mind I had it all… Then I began college. I attempted cooking for myself (we all know college kids cooking for themselves is a disaster) and began a few years of disservice to my body by an overall unhealthy lifestyle. I spent many a cold day sitting inside eating entire packages of Velveeta Shells and Cheese right out of the pot. Or dinners that consisted of Hamburger Helper and Doritos. I quickly blew up. None of my pants fit, but I’d still squeeze into them unsure of who was more uncomfortable.. myself or the others who had to bear witness to my muffin top. A few years and value packs of Ramen noodles later, I became aware of how bad I looked. I was tanning in my parents back yard one summer when my dad pointed at my belly and asked what “that” was. “Oh Dad, that’s just my beer gut” were not exactly the words coming out of my mouth, but that’s exactly what it was. Many people would think that was a terrible thing to hear, but it woke me up. I was 22, completely inactive, 160 pounds and well on my way up.

my 23rd birthday party

Sometime soon after that I joined a gym with a girlfriend and every day after work I would get on the elliptical for 30 – 60 minutes. I was terrified of gym equipment. I had no idea what it did and the one time a trainer showed me what to do, I almost threw up, not because of his persistence to make me a client, but because I was actually being pushed too hard. So I stuck to cardio, every now and then attempting to run, but mostly just the elliptical. I counted every single calorie down to gum. I would under no circumstances eat more than 1000 calories in a day. I ate veggie burgers plain, salad, fruit, yogurt, kettle corn.. who knows, but it wasn’t more than 1000 calories! It was very simple, work off more than what you take in. I would stay on the elliptical until I saw the machine register I had burned off 1000 calories! That made for a fun Saturday. I had so many customers at my tanning salons willing to train me, but I wouldn’t have it! I was determined I knew what I was doing and doing any kind of lifting was not going to be part of it. I quickly went from 160 to 140, in just under 6 months. I felt a million times better about myself and never really meant to cut back on working so hard, but it just happened.

I soon relocated to Tampa, Florida. I kept eating what I thought was healthy (I was at least eating more than 1000 calories a day) and spent countless hours on the trusty elliptical. I became fascinated by a Bayshore Boulevard in South Tampa, a road with the longest continuous sidewalk in the world.

bayshore

The sidewalk goes 4.5 miles, on the bay side, with beautiful views of the water, downtown Tampa, surrounding cities, gorgeous mansions, and if you are lucky, you’ll catch a glimpse of dolphins, sharks, sting rays or jumping fish! I decided it was time to hit the pavement and take on Bayshore. Once again I went with a girlfriend on walks along this gorgeous stretch of road. There were times that friend couldn’t come along, and on those trips I would try to jog a little, until finally I could jog the whole way, 3.2 miles from my house and back. I made another friend who really liked to run. He and I would go out and run anywhere from 3 – 8 miles. There were days I did not want to make that run. When it’s 85 degrees and boiling hot humidity, getting motivated to run outside was tough. That’s why it’s such a great idea to have an accountability partner- He’d make me feel like a wuss for not going. I logged so many miles, I was obsessed.

(I apparently must be pretty good at this blogging thing because I can’t seem to stop!) I’ll make the rest of this quick. The running partner moved away. I joined a real life gym and got a real life trainer and started a real life work out plan. I continued to eat “healthy” (I’ll explain another day why I put that in quotations) and I continued my steady diet of bran flakes and Bud Light until I moved away to begin my true journey into becoming a workout fanatic.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

14 Responses to “My First Blog”

RSS Feed for The Get In Shape Girl's Blog Comments RSS Feed

Congrats on getting it up and running!

Hey Kyra! Great first blog – I’ll definitely keep reading 🙂

I love it! I can’t wait to hear the rest of the story =)

Awesome job! I want the rest of the story…will definitely keep reading. Keep up the great work.

you definitely keep me inspired Kyra, you look awesome and that gives me something to shoot for. You should post different cook books/recipes that you eat regularly. Eating is my biggest hurdle and I could totally use some tips
xo, Lauren

I definitely will. And just for that suggestion I will tell you, for dinner I just had a wheat pita pizza. I topped with 2 tablespoons of fat free ricotta spread on it, 2 tablespoons of no sodium added tomato sauce, app 15 pieces of canned mushroom pieces, 1 thin sliced chicken cutlet breast cut into bite size pieces(99% fat free, no skin, previously baked in a tiny bit of fat free/ low cal italian dressing) and 1/4 cup of fat free mozzerella cheese. bake it 20 minutes while in the shower after CATZ. DELICIOUS!!!
Calories – 413
Carbs – 44
Fat – 5
Protein – 53

I’ll be reading, keep it coming!!

This is fabulous! I really want to know the rest of the story – I’ll definitely keep reading. Keep up this great work, Key. I’m proud of you.

The adventures of Kyra the great! I love it. Keep it coming. 1 post a day.

what is the under/over for caloric intake on saturdays during a hawkeye game (best football team ever created) in order to maintain this killer bod? i know, i know, you’re probably asking yourself why the frak would mf’n gretter’s brother even care about that since he’s the definition of a manly man with the sharp corners of an adonis? to be continued…

im saying WAY over on saturday. and way over again on sunday as my day consisted of pizza, meatballs and garlic bread, more meatballs and garlic bread, and more pizza, but i broke it up with a quick 2 mile run on the treadmill. going wayyyyyyyyyy back over again while i watch you guys kick butt some spartan but this saturday!

Hey Kyra,
I can’t wait to read your second blog:)

This is great! I will be checking back again soon. : )

Great Blog!! 😀 Told you I would stop by 😉


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

